January reads

So okay. I have not yet finished a book since the new year entered. One reason being there’s so much to read in cyberspace! Just to mention a few:

Austin Allen’s ruminations on immortalizing the beloved in love poems. I did not know all the poems referenced but he writes with such comic irony that one cannot help but agree with him when he posits “elegiac sequences are even more apt to turn lovers into phantoms, conjured only through a few devastating details.”

Nancy Westaway’s Modern Grief: confronting my husband’s digital ghosts – one email at a time.  This seriously made me pause to contemplate so many what-ifs scenarios in our digital age.

Idrees Khaloon’s take on learning Arabic, something to which I can relate to. Living for ten years in an Arabic-speaking country has made me want to learn the language but when my kids and I tried to, it was so difficult! Not only are there so many things to remember when writing the script, the alphabet is different and there are different sounds to master.

A volunteer’s tale of working with Better Days for Moira at a refugee camp in Lesvos, Greece. Like her, “there are stories I’ve heard and things I’ve witnessed that I’ve chosen not to write about.”

The New York Times’ book review of Robin Lane Fox’s Augustine: Conversions to Confessions which is making me want to order the book over at Book Depository (except that it costs a whopping $42, having just been released in November 2015). Augustine  is the only early church father whose writing – the autobiographical Confessions – I want to read.

Still, despite having so many eat-outs this month, I finally started seriously reading a book that is so hard to digest it literally makes me want to eat out again: Stephen Meyer’s Darwin’s Doubt: The Explosive Origin of Animal Life and the Case for Intelligent Design.

Leave a Reply

