This week, I’ll be reading …

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to write about what I’m reading. Well, actually. Reading the book blogs of Filipinos who belong to Read Philippines and Filipino Book Bloggers, made me want to blog about the books in our house. Note that I did not say the books I’ve read. The truth is there are many books on my bookshelves that I have yet to read. Someday, though, I’ll curl up on the beach, get lost in their fictional worlds and deliciously savor the flavor of the literary characters contained therein.

IMG_1527 (2)

Meanwhile, I need to fix breakfast for the family. But. I’ll just share what I’ll be reading this weekend: the 2013 International Activity Report of Medecins Sans Frontieres otherwise known as Doctors Without Borders. According to the lady who gave me a copy, it’s MSF’s latest and it was published in August 2014. Understandably, it’s difficult to collate all the statistics from the ground from all the hotspots in the world where their agency has a presence.

IMG_1529 (2)

The Philippines page featured MSF’s activity in the country in the wake of Typhoon Yolanda aka Typhoon Haiyan. For most of us who are cynical about contributing to government efforts at rehabilitation (personally, we coursed our help through a missions agency), it was heartwarming to read what MSF has done, where it went and how they helped Filipinos after the devastating calamity.

Leave a Reply

